Newcomb Institute Honors Two in SPHTM Community


Newcomb Honors Two in SPHTM Community


Pey Shan Pearl Kuo (left) was honored earlier this month by the Newcomb College Institute with the Oak Wreath Award.  The Oak Wreath is bestowed upon selected undergraduate senior women who distinguish themselves through an engaged pursuit of learning, leadership in student activities, and contribution to the Newcomb/Tulane community.   Four other BSPH students, Victoria Aucoin, Jamie Carpenter Allison Feibus, and Alyssa Palmquist, also received the Oak Wreath. 

Kuo was joined at the Oak Wreath dinner by mentor Maureen Lichtveld, Freeport McMoRan Chair of Environmental Policy.  Just a few days later, Lichtveld herself was honored at the institute's Under the Oaks graduation ceremony, where she was awarded the Mortar Board Excellence in Teaching Award for a tenured faculty member.  

May 19, 2011




1440 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 504-988-5388 or 800-676-5389